Janathon, 1 down 30 to go!

So Janathon has arrived and with it the first blog. I’m afraid I’m no wordsmith so I will endeavour to keep them both brief and intresting!

I’m a big fan of parkrun so the chance of running an extra one at Bedford this morning was an opportunity not to be missed. It was billed as a fancy dress run but not too many took the chance to dress up though for some reason (seemed like a good idea at the time!) I ran in a kilt and rob-roy shirt and whilst cameras were in evidence, I’ve yet to see the pictures! I’m also using this garb as an excuse as to why, at 31:19 in 64th place, I was over 2 minutes slower than my Bedford best. As always, and especially as this is New Years Day, a big round of applause goes out to the volunteers.

Not sure if I’m doing it correctly as I don’t normally use the site but here is my activity on the running free site.

Truth to tell, as with all my races, I suspect the answer is between my ears as the little devil on my shoulder keeps saying “you’re tired, walking a little won’t hurt” and I keep believing him! I’m going to have to learn to block him out if I’m going to set all the pb’s I want to this year!

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Janathon. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Janathon, 1 down 30 to go!

  1. I like Bedford Parkrun. Its so flat 😉
    Congrats on getting the first day done! xxxx

  2. Pete says:

    Well done for getting your Janathon under-way & in fancy dress too. Parkrun is such a great concept, sadly there isn’t 1 very close to me.

  3. abradypus says:

    I sooooo hope there are photos 😉

  4. Janathon in a skirt! Definitely the first blog I’ve read with that as a feature. I look forward to photos….

Leave a Reply

