A breeze to one is a wind to us wimps!

Out here in the Fens, wind is always a factor I take into consideration when going out for a run. No, not the sort of wind that results from a surfeit of brussels sprouts but the elemental variety and out here it can get very elemental!

So this morning I looked out of my window and barely a twig on the trees was stirring so I quickly donned shorts, tee shirt and running shoes. I was more than a little disappointed to find that once I reached the middle-of-nowhere the breeze had turned into a stiffish wind and on the homeward two legs of my square route it was both cold and in my face!

Now runningfreeonline where my efforts are recorded does not agree with me as it reports that the wind was merely 24km/h – are you calling me a wimp or what?

Anyway that’s about it – the beauty of running in the middle-of-nowhere is that very little happens and I was passed by two cars, one old lady who raised her walking stick in salutation and was barked at by several dogs all of whom, happily, remained firmly shut in!

The next three days could be a bit more interesting as I’m on a 3 day course in Derby and so will find myself running in, what for me is, a metropolis!

And by why of a PS – those of you who have nothing better to do with their time can follow this link where there are (mercifully only 3) pictures of me running Bedford parkrun in a skirt!

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Janathon. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A breeze to one is a wind to us wimps!

  1. abradypus says:

    I bet you’re glad you weren’t running in your kilt again 🙂

  2. And if you were doing the full kilt thing (ahem) passers-by were probably glad as well….

    PS. I have nothing better to do with my time…

    • JovialGnome says:

      Yes, it seemed to me that in polite society shorts underneath were a must – I did try it wearing the sporran as well but it was bouncing where sporrans aren’t supposed to bounce so I discarded it!

Leave a Reply

