The end of week one….

This morning saw me doing King’s Lynn parkrun for the fifth time. It’s my home parkrun being the nearest to me and it’s a pleasant, flat three lap course and you can get a rather good latte in the coffee shop afterwards! There are times when you are in the mood to push it and times when you aren’t and today was one of the latter so I was reasonably pleased with my performance this morning.

With a bit of luck and a fair wind I’ll be doing the brand new St. Albans parkrun next weekend with abradypus who I originally met at the inaugural King’s Lynn race and whose amazing nomadding feats inspired me to embark on my own parkrun adventure!

Returned home via Tesco where I bought a couple of vests which is an item of clothing that, apart from running vests, I haven’t worn since I was 11 years old but the polo shirt that I have to wear in my new job has a massive piece of embroidery on the back which, after just one days wear has left a big sore patch in the middle of my back so I’m hoping that a vest underneath will alleviate the problem – didn’t want you to think I was turning into a sad, vest wearing old man!

Not that I’m claiming it as part of my Janathon workout but this afternoon I had to bash some new fenceposts into the fence around the field as the wind had flattened a couple of them and the sheeps were staring longingly into the next field – I did explain to them that the grass only looked greener but thought I ought to repair the fence just to be on the safe side!

And so ends week one of my first Janathon – I think I’ve enjoyed it though fitting runs in around my new job next week is going to be fun. Ho hum, I enjoy a challenge!

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Janathon. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The end of week one….

  1. abradypus says:

    The coffee shop is a good one, and beautifully close to the finish 🙂

  2. When would it be polite to demand sheep photos? Glad to hear that you’ve survived and enjoyed the first week of Janathon!

Leave a Reply

