It’s Sunday so it must be a long run….

Sunday is the day that I always try (though don’t always succeed) to do a long run. The forecast was cloudy but no rain so I donned my sub-zero top and hi-viz tee-shirt and a pair of shorts, filled my water bottle with cheapo Asda sports drink and set off. I have two routes which I tend to alternate from week to week, one takes me into and out of the other side of Boston but today I did the country route which would probably explain why in a little over 2½ hours I saw 3 cars, 1 dog walker and 1 other jogger, glad I had my mp3 player with me!

It’s a shame brussels sprouts can’t talk or shout encouragement ’cause I saw loads and loads of them! Anyway, lonely as it was, here is the representation of my efforts on runningreeonline. As I’ve signed up for the Maraton of the North on May 6th, I’m going to have to sort out a slightly more structured training plan rather than just winging it which is what I’m doing at the moment!

But this is Janathon and I rather suspect that winging it is what it’s all about so I shall probably continue to do so for the rest of this month at least!

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Janathon. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Sunday so it must be a long run….

  1. fortnightflo says:

    How on earth did you see lots of brussel sprouts?? i have visioins of sticks of them along the side of the road cheering you on…

    • JovialGnome says:

      They’re just about the only crop in the fields round here at the moment, field upon field of them but I shall have that vision in my head now you’ve planted the seed as it were! 🙂

  2. abradypus says:

    Winging it as a plan works for me.

Leave a Reply

