It’s parkrun day!

Another silly o’clock start for me to allow me to make the 102 mile drive down to St Albans parkrun in Verulamium Park – the distinctly frosty vista did momentarily make me question my sanity but what the hell, this is a new parkrun, of course it’s a good idea!

And boy was it ever worth it! Quite apart from the joy of meeting up with fellow ‘athoners abradypus and fortnightflo the course was lovely, virtually flat (we who live in the fens like that!) and very picturesque as you get to do three laps of the lake. This also gives you plenty of time to see the quick boys and girls who are going to be lapping you in the very near future!

I got round in 29.43 and given how cold it was, I’m quite happy with that though I still don’t know how I ever did 28.03, I reckon I must have been on roller skates (or steroids!) For the purposes of Janathon you can see my efforts here. I send my sincere apologies to Samantha from Dacorum and Tring AC who I trailed for the last lap of the lake but who I unsportingly drifted past on the run in to the line!

It then got better as abradypus very kindly treated us to a very welcome coffee which we had to drink outside as the cafe was jam packed and it was rather nice to meet Danny Norman who I listen to avidly on the parkrun show every week. A great day, many thanks to my fellow ‘athoners and to all the volunteers who made the whole thing possible.

Great day and just like Arnie “I will be back”!

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Janathon, Parkrun. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s parkrun day!

  1. abradypus says:

    Great seeing you again. It’s always nice to meet up with fellow nomad/tourist types 😉

  2. Great to meet you too!

  3. Pingback: @stalbansparkrun and an awesome PB! « Fortnightflo's Blog

  4. fortnightflo says:

    As a fellow fen lass (ish – essex girl really) I too loved the flatness! It was great to meet you today – let me know when you’d like to meet up at MK, although it decidedly NOT flat I do like the course and would happily do it again.

  5. Pingback: St Albans parkrun | abradypus

  6. zoecakes says:

    Sounds like a good course – our local parkrun (Bromley) is flat too, but we tried out Banstead yesterday. Quite a surprise to actually have to go up something, but the downhill was nice 😉

Leave a Reply

