The menagerie

I have been asked for pictures of my animals. Well truth to tell only travelling hopefully has asked but now I’ve discovered how to post photos I thought I’d share a few piccies with you!

My five pedigree Ryeland ewe lambs arrived at the end of September 2010 and have since grown into large adult sheep and along the way I had them sheared which altered their appearance somewhat!

I’m off on a family cruise (though I’m trying to avoid the news at the moment!) next April so rather than find a ram for them so that they lamb in March/April this year I left it until December to see about borrowing a ram (would lamb in May) but of course I couldn’t find one to borrow so a facebook friend offered to sell me one of “her boys”. Cranbrook Presley (Elvis is in the building) turned up the day after boxing day and now I see why she said one of her boys – he’s a bit small, about six inches shorter than my tubby ewes!

But he’s a proper little cutie and everyone who knows about these things assures me that he’ll manage the job in hand, we’ll find out if they start lambing in May! I’ve also got two pedigree Dexter heifers, reasonably normal cow sized bodies on short legs, supposed to be the ideal smallholders cattle. I absolutely adore them but they are nothing like as friendly as the sheeps! Hill Farm Marli is the bigger one and Hill Farm Cinders is a wee bit smaller. They’re both just about old enough to get in calf but as I don’t own and can’t afford a bull, artificial insemination will have to suffice (too much information I hear you cry!)

As you can see, they all get along famously together!

I love them all to bits, I’ve gone all soppy in my old age ’cause none of these will go for meat (I’ve even stopped eating lamb!) and whilst I may have to sell their offspring due to lack of space the present incumbents will, I hope, live a long and happy life here!

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in My Animals. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The menagerie

  1. Abradypus says:

    Yay! Now that you’ve sussed posting photos we will of course be expecting loads more. Especially once the lambs arrive.

  2. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! The sheeps are beautiful and your cows majestic.

  3. fortnightflo says:

    Ah they are all lovely!

Leave a Reply

