A long(ish) one today

It being Sunday, an extra hour or two in bed is always very welcome especially when the temperature is below zero outside. My original intention was to go for a long run fairly early in the morning but on poking my nose outside the door I decided that it was still way too cold to be indulging in any physical pursuits so I went to Asda instead!

I got there when they opened just after 9.30, did my meagre bit of shopping and went to the checkouts only to find that you couldn’t actually buy anything until 10 o’clock so I went round again and bought myself a malt loaf, all of which I’ve eaten today because I have no willpower whatsoever! (It is rather scrummy though!)

Back home again and it was time to get the chainsaw out and saw up some more wood for my voracious woodburner and having done that I then had to split the logs. I reckon that could quite easily have been my Janathon effort for today as by the time I had finished I could barely lift the axe!

But no, I vowed to myself that I would run every day and so I did a 10 mile lap of the outskirts of Boston and considering it was more or less all in a built up area I passed relatively few people though I’m delighted to report that all of those that I did pass responded positively to my cheery hello!

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Janathon. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A long(ish) one today

  1. lengthorn says:

    Well done you – 10 miles….nice. Happy people in Boston!

  2. runrencerun says:

    10 miles is cool, longer than I’ve ever done – must of been the malt loaf, its high carb apparently

  3. abradypus says:

    Wood chopping AND a ten mile run. What are you? Superman?

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Brilliant 10 miles! LOVE malt loaf – I always have two slices of soreen before a longer race…

Leave a Reply

