Off to Pontefract parkrun today

You’d think I’d have had enough of getting up at 5 o’clock during the week but no, I did it again today on one of my days off so that I could make the 95 mile journey up to Ponterfract parkrun!

It was most certainly worth it despite the howling gale blowing across Pontefract racecourse. The course itself starts just below the grandstands and runs on a shingle path for 500 metres or so before it veers of right across the soggy grass infield of the racecourse after which you once again pick up a made-up path which runs slightly uphill alongside the racetrackĀ and passes the finish line after which you do a whole lap of the racecourse on either tarmac or shingle tracks.

It is a very pleasant course with most of the downhills in the first part and most of the uphills in the second. I did a brief warm-up before the parkrun and then the parkrun itself, which I managed in 30.23 but I blame this on the strong wind which was not conducive to good times (well that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it!) but come what may it’s a great parkrun and I really enjoyed it.

Post run coffee was taken in Starbucks in Xscape outlet village which was very nice but they also had a Sweatshop there which was offering 20% off so despite the fact that I don’t actually need any kit I still came away with a hi-viz top and some Hilly socks! Ho hum, I may never be rich but I hope to always be happy!

So that’s day 21 of Janathon done and dusted and I can definitely feel the finish line beckoning!

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Janathon, Parkrun. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Off to Pontefract parkrun today

  1. abradypus says:

    Sounds like a great parkrun. Though I’m unlikely ever to find it, as I always think Pontefract is in Wales. In the same way that Gateshead is in Kent.

  2. fortnightflo says:

    Sweatshop is my new favourite shop – I got Hilly socks too at the weekend!

Leave a Reply

