Today I raced…..

Well alright, I’m not too sure that I actually raced but I was in a race! It was the Barrow 6, the first race in the Leicestershire Road Running League winter programme which sees 22 running clubs from the county competing in a league with 5 winter races and 6 summer races. Each race normally has upwards of 500 competitors and for the first time they were using chip timing this year which should mean the results are both more accurate than usual and arrive a wee bit quicker (though they’ve not arrived yet!)

As I no longer live in Leicestershire, I now run 2nd claim for my old club Fleckney & Kibworth A.C. and such was the lack of runners from the club today that I found myself one of the 8 counters (first 8 men and first 4 women count for the results) which may account for why I managed to run a pb getting round in 55:57 (though I’m hoping the chip time will be better!) as I didn’t want to let the club down! Can’t remember whereabouts on the interweb I read it but I all the way round (and especially the hills) I kept repeating the mantra “go hard or go home!” and I guess it worked. I am very rarely one of the eight and usually wobble round at the back so I really enjoyed the fact that my efforts actually counted for something today!

So another Janathon day down and just two more to go, bring ’em on!

 

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Janathon, Running/Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today I raced…..

  1. abradypus says:

    Yay! And with all of Janathon in your legs. Cone February you’ll be speeding everywhere.

  2. fortnightflo says:

    Oooh I like that Mantra – OK if I nick it?

Leave a Reply

