That’s it then…

So this is the end of Janathon and whilst, at times, it has been a right royal pain in the bum I have mostly enjoyed it! Today saw me rising once more at 5 o’clock to do a 5½ mile run to bring my effort for January to a welcome close and I promise you that whatever abradypus confidently predicts, I will not be getting up at 5 o’clcock tomorrow and bolting my trainers on!

I have never before run every day for a month, it has been an interesting experience and having managed to clock up 161 miles in 28½ hours I have to say that the running part has not really been a problem (though I do think we all need the odd days rest!) but the blogging most certainly has. Not only does it take me ages to write the blog but most days I struggle to find anything remotely interesting to say and I can but offer my sympathy to anyone who has followed all 31 days!

But equally I offer my thanks to the many friends who introduced me to this extravaganza for it has been great fun and I offer my hearty congratulations to all my fellow Janathoners for I now realize what a committment it is! I also apologize for not reading anything like as many of your blogs as I had intended to but those I have made me laugh, cheer, sympathise and be inspired in equal measure! I do hope to catch up with some of you at various parkruns up and down the country and wish you all good luck and good fortune in the various runs and races coming up for you in the future.

I will blog again but it will only be an occasional thing from now on, thanks again, it’s been a blast!

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Janathon. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to That’s it then…

  1. Borntoshuffle says:

    Yup, I found the blogging harder than the runs, but well done and every success to you and your running!

  2. That’s a brilliant mileage! Especially considering its your first one 🙂 Well done

  3. abradypus says:

    Awesome mileage there. Very impressed. And stunned by the number of 5am runs you clocked up.

  4. fortnightflo says:

    You have done so well, I bet the sheep have misse dyou though so you’re allowed a couple of days off. Mile End on Saturday?…

Leave a Reply

