I’m getting a little porky!

And no, to those of you who know I keep animals, I am not a acquiring a pig!

This morning I ran the 2nd race in the Leicestershire Road Running League winter series the Desford 10k which was actually held in Market Bosworth (I believe the usual venue is undergoing some work) and was a little disappointed to wobble round in 62:44 (chip time) which is about 4 minutes off my pb.

Luckily I was our ninth runner and so not one of the eight who count for league position which is just as well as I found it a struggle right from the outset today and it never got any better! It was only when I got home and headed for the shower that I noticed in the mirror that I appear to have gained quite a few wobbly bits that I didn’t have a month or so ago and upon weighing myself I found that over half a stone has crept on without me noticing. I am hoping that this is the reason for my less than startling run this morning.

It is therefore strict diet time. If anyone sees me so much as look at a bar of chocolate or bag of crisps then please feel free to hit me with something hard and heavy! Here’s hoping that next time I post I will have regained my usual svelte and streamlined (ha ha!) figure!

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Running/Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m getting a little porky!

  1. ReNcE says:

    Good luck, how did you manage to do Janasthon and still put on weight!?! Is it ok to hit you with a 3 foot toblerone, or would that be rubbing it in?

  2. fortnightflo says:

    Each lb apparently decreases (or increases depending on which way you look at it) your speed by 2seconds per mile. So a 4 minute difference on 10k equates to 40 seconds per mile, which is the equivalent to 20lbs in weight…and you’ve only gained 7, so erm, divide by 2 and times by the remainder over pi dvided by sin….erm the point I am trying to make is it’s not your wobbly bits that have slowed you down – I reckon the course was long or maybe your legs are just fatigued from Janathon. And by the weigh (geddit..) I am marathon training and have managed to put on 4 lbs in the last 4 weeks so don’t feel bad!! And please also hit me if you see me eating rubbish xx

  3. abradypus says:

    I’d comment, but I’m too busy eating crisps 😉

Leave a Reply

