Two for the price of one!

I was going to blog about my adventure at the Colwick parkrun yesterday but when I put the clocks back and realized how much of my precious sleep I decided to give it best, hence you’ve got two for the price of one today!

So 8.30 yesterday morning saw me meeting up with abradypus at the Colwick parkrun in Nottingham. I’d spent the previous evening tweeting her about how beautiful and scenic the course was but alas the fog was that thick that you couldn’t even see the lakes we were running around though I did feel obliged to point out the odd duck and goose just to prove that I wasn’t fibbing! It was decided that 33 mins would be a good time given that we both had races the following day so I’m not at all sure who pushed who but we managed to cross the line in 30½ mins – whoops! Refreshments were taken afterwards in the adventure centre where we chatted to fellow parkrunners, something which always confirms my belief that parkruns are simply wonderful events!

Fast forward 24 hours and I was once again driving back to Leicestershire to take part in the last race in the Leicestershire Road Running League winter series the Kibworth 6. As I run for Fleckney & Kibworth A.C. this is our local race though we are only a small club so another local club Roadhoggs organize it. Whilst I’ve been a club member for almost 5 years I’ve never run the course before, I’ve always marshalled, supported or photographed and having done it today I now know why! It has two absolute killer hills and so I was more than a little chuffed to come home in what I hope will be a chip time of bang on an hour!

All in all a great weekend meeting up with friends and clubmates old and new, having a couple of really enjoyable runs topped off with an enormous cheese feast pizza this evening!

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Parkrun, Running/Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two for the price of one!

  1. abradypus says:

    Lovely seeing you again, and well done on your 6mile time.

  2. fortnightflo says:

    Brilliant time for both races – well done!

Leave a Reply

