Catching up…

As it’s the eve of Juneathon and I will very shortly be forced to blog every day I feel it incumbent on me to catch up with the last two weeks or so.

On Saturday 12th May I went along to King’s Lynn parkrun and did a bit of a warm up run but in the announcements they said they were short of a marshal so rather than running I did a some volunteering, it does give you a warm fuzzy feeling knowing that you have given just a little bit back.

The following day saw me heading back to Leicestershire to take part in the Hinckley half marathon, a lovely rural, slightly undulating but very picturesque course but by way of getting my excuses in early I could still feel last weeks marathon in my legs and so was very happy to get round in a chip time of 2:17:48 and collect this rather fetching tee shirt with the name of every competitor on the back of it!

Fast forward a week and I am in Northampton on Saturday 19th May for their 3rd parkrun (alas I missed the inaugural one because I was in Sunderland) and whilst I did rather enjoy the flat two lap(ish) course they have definitely short measured it and on this particular day their timing was a little bit out as they credited me with 29.13 but I made it just a little bit more. I’m sure they will overcome these teething troubles and the run will become as popular as its near neighbour Bedford.

Are you bored yet? Bear with it, just one more week to go! Another Saturday and another parkrun and this time it was my home event of King’s Lynn. I felt like I was running quite quickly for me and so was a little disappointed to find that I stopped the clock at 30:20, it did feel a bit nippier than that! Sunday dawned and it was back home to Leicestershire (can you spot a pattern emerging here?) to take part in the Swithland 6, an undulating but very pretty course that runs round a goodly portion of Swithland reservoir, oh and it was very hot! I was trotting along quite nicely when at just over two miles I experienced a senior moment when I tripped on some uneven ground, did a fantastic roll, regained my feet and carried on running – I even heard a ripple of applause from those behind me! Alas it did rather knock the wind out of my sails and made a bit of a mess of my right arm and leg so all in all I was happy to come home with a chip time of 62:04. An ambulance driver very kindly bathed my wounds and I’m pleased to say that no permanent damage has been done!

So that’s it, I’m up to date so with Juneathon starting tomorrow all it remains for me to say is good luck to my fellow participants and bring it on!

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Juneathon, Running/Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Catching up…

  1. abradypus says:

    10km with added gymnastics – you could start a trend! Glad you’re only bruised and not broken.

  2. Sounds like you’re ready for juneathon…..I’ll be popping back to check progress. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

