Sad start, better middle and a good end!

I know it’s a day off but I was still up early to check up on Tonks who looked a lot happier than she did last night and to bury the little girl and boy lambs who sadly never saw the light of day – the older I get the softer I get and I will unashamedly admit to crying my eyes out for the sad loss both for Tonks and for the lambs.

Then it was off to King’s Lynn for the much happier event that is parkrun! Very windy but completed a warm-up before setting off on the parkrun itself where I’m pleased to have run a bit quicker than I did last week at 31:49 though I’m still not firing on all cylinders! A rather splendid latte and a chat with friends old and new followed by a trip to PC World for a £44 toner cartridge for my printer, at that price it needs to last!

Back home and it was time to take my car back to the dealers for some warranty work on the steering which they are going to complete whilst I’m not using it this week. This gave me the opportunity for a windy run home and to bring todays mileage up to just over 10 and my total for Juneathon so far to 165k.

And I’m delighted to report that this evening Tonks was at the door of her box baaaing to be let out and is now out in the field. She’s not exactly skipping about and I’m sure she’s still very sore but she is so much better than I could have hoped or expected so I shall sleep a little easier tonight.

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Juneathon, My Animals. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sad start, better middle and a good end!

  1. abradypus says:

    Superb mileage, Mr Gnome, and great news about Tonks.

Leave a Reply

