My sister cometh

So I had a cunning plan to go for a run early doors, come back and do an awful lot of cleaning before they arrived and then go for another run this evening but as one Robert Burns esq. would have said “The best-laid schemes o’ mice an’ men gang aft agley,”!

Run number one went off fine, I left the house at 6.30 and did a very pleasant 7 and a bit mile loop round Boston in what started as rain but finished up as light drizzle and when I got back I got stuck into the cleaning with great gusto waved a duster about a bit and did a couple of desultory circuits with the hoover!

Sister, brother-in-law and Holly the labrador duly arrived and terrorised made a fuss of the sheep, all were most impressed with cuteness and athletic prowess of the lambs. This is the point at which my plans started to go off the rails for we then decamped to the Castle Inn in Freiston where I partook of two pints of Batemans bitter and a Hawaiin Gammon and left feeling the size of a small barrage balloon!

It is now some five hours later and I am still feeling far too full to run which has, I suspect, scotched my ambition to break the 200 mile mark for Juneathon. I now need to run over 12k per day and I know I simply won’t have the time, shame ’cause if I could have got another 6 miles in tonight it would have made the remaining days more manageable. Ho hum, que sera, sera and other such guff, I’m still quite pleased that by the end I will have run outside every day with no recourse to the treadmill!

Anyway, after the pub we all came back here and I transferred all her cruise snaps onto a memory stick for her photo frame (she would be the first to admit that she’s not good with “technology”!) and we took some very cute pictures of her holding the lambs though I suspect she won’t be winning shepherdess of the year any time soon, I’m not sure who was more scared, her or the lambs!

Total for Juneathon = 248k

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Juneathon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

