A new job

Today was the first day of my new job as a meter reader with Lowri Beck and the first day of training took place at the Bell Inn in Thetford and as it didn’t start until 9.30 I had time to go for a slightly longer run this morning which, despite my pessimism of yesterday, still keeps me in with an outside chance of breaking the 200 mile mark for Juneathon especially as the 30th falls on a Saturday!

Todays training was to familiarize me and my fellow conscript with the company and its procedures, the different types of meter we will encounter and use of the handheld terminal which we will receive tomorrow – an awful lot of information to take in, hopefully some of it has stuck! Tomorrow I’m out with an experienced meter reader and I had to smile when he told me I could meet him at his house which is about a mile from where I’ve just finsihed working at Motorpoint – difference is this time I’m being paid 28p per mile to travel there!

Total for Juneathon so far = 259k.

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Juneathon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A new job

  1. abradypus says:

    Fingers crossed for the two hundred.

Leave a Reply

