Is that a light at the end of the tunnel?

Ooooh, not long to go now! Probably my last silly early start for this Juneathon (going to do King’s Lynn parkrun tomorrow!) saw me pounding the pavements of Boston at 5.30 in the morning and edging another six miles closer to my target of 200 miles for the month. My total for Juneathon so far is 299k leaving me roughly 23k to do tomorrow – a warm-up and a parkrun should take care of roughly 8 leaving me to find a 15k’ish run in the afternoon and then, thank the Lord, it will all be over!

First day out as a meter reader on my own today in Wisbech. They gave me 59 jobs to do in the day which I’d completed by 1.30, alas they didn’t let me go home but sent me another 40 to do which lasted until home time! Think it’s going to be OK, far from the most taxing job I’ve ever done but you certainly get to see how the other half lives! It’ll certainly do for now as I expect to be earning about half as much again as Motorpoint and so will have a chance to restore my finances to where they should be!

Because I’ve got to pay for this little lot – 21 bales of silage for the animals this winter. I rent a 2 acre field and made hay last year but the weather is so naff this year I wasn’t prepared to take the chance of having spoilt hay. Not as easy to feed as hay but at least I’ve got it an the animals love it!

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Juneathon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is that a light at the end of the tunnel?

  1. abradypus says:

    Good luck with your mileage chase tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

