Is this a blog I see before me?

It certainly is! I did mention at the start that I am far from the most prolific blog poster and the fact that I’ve not posted anything since Juneathon ended does bear me out somewhat! But never let it be said that you don’t get value for money when I do post for today I’m covering three, yes three topics.

Yesterday I attended Mansfield parkrun, I was confronted with a choice of three I haven’t done before that fell within my 100 mile radius cut off – Mansfield, Sheringham and Ipswich (which I believe parkrun legend Danny Norman attended) and I plumped for Mansfield ’cause the weather forecast looked driest of the three, “wimp!” I hear you cry and you are most certainly correct!

A pancake flat, well marshaled, 3 lap course around Manor Park in Mansfield saw me trundle in in 23rd place out of 30 finishers with a time of 30.31. It is their 7th running of this parkrun and apart from week one which saw 61 finishers (won by the aforementioned Mr. Norman), 30ish is something like their average – it’s a nice course and deserves to be better supported, go and take a look!

This brings us to today which saw me taking part in the Remembrance 10k which was part of the Peterborough 5×5 Challenge (though I haven’t taken part in any of the other 4!). I got an email on Thursday saying that the 10k was actually going to be 11k because all the rain had caused some rather large and muddy puddles which meant lengthening the route by 1 kilometre. Anyone who knows me knows of my dislike for anything other than nice, smooth, shiny black tarmac but my run today may just have changed my mind slightly!

The race was run through Fineshade Woods near Corby on compacted gravel paths and was described as undulating though if you take a look at the profile and the bloody enormous hill at 7k, I would beg to differ and call it hilly! That said I absolutely loved it! Being a fen dweller I rarely see any hills and as I was grunting my way up every damned one of them I could feel them doing me good – honest! The scenery was splendid, I do love running in woodland, and I completed the 11k in 71m 45s finishing 232nd out of 258 having genuinely enjoyed every minute of it. A bit of bling, a bottle of water and some energy gels were our reward (I bought the t-shirt as it was a good cause) and the race was well organised and marshaled excellently by friendly and encouraging volunteers, if they run it again I will be back!

Yesterday I went and fetched back my ram Elvis (Cranmore Presley) from my neighbour who had borrowed him for 6 weeks to run with her ewes. Whilst I was there she mentioned that she had some of this years ewe lambs which she was going to have to send to the butcher because she hadn’t got enough room for them. Being a total softy I couldn’t let this happen and so bought 6 of them and arranged to collect them on Monday.

I had barely been back from the race 10 minutes when I got a text saying that she’d got the lambs in her trailer to put their eartags in and it seemed daft to let them go again so she would bring them over in an hour! I had intended to split the field in two with a fence because they’re too young for the amorous attention of Elvis this year but I simply didn’t have time and so the wooly little bundles of fun are spending their first night in the stable until I get the fence done and can let them out. Cute aren’t they? The flock now numbers 14!

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in My Animals, Parkrun, Running/Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Is this a blog I see before me?

  1. plustenner says:

    very cute lambs 🙂

  2. abradypus says:

    Pancake flat sounds good 🙂

Leave a Reply

