Hmmm, not sure this is really carbo loading…

Yesterday, being a Saturday, was parkrun day. Alas, since I got this new job this only happens for me every other Saturday so I do tend to treasure them. I had intended to visit Ipswich parkrun but then my niece announced that she was coming over to see me with her new boyfriend so I decided to stay relatively local and visit my home parkrun at King’s Lynn (there not being a single parkrun in Lincolnshire 34 miles away qualifies as local!)

It is normally three laps of The Walks in King’s Lynn with a nice stretch where you can see who is catching you up or who you have just overtaken. That bit remained the same but on account of all the precipitation we have had lately there was a dirty great puddle on one of the normal paths so a slight diversion up to and round a roundabout was added and give or take .07 of a kilometre this was the course for the day. I wobbled round in 30.45 and then shot straight off (I normally stop for a coffee and a chat which is probably the best bit!) so that I could be home when my niece arrived.

To cut a long story short, they walked round the sheeps and ooohed and aaahed in all the right places and we went to the Castle in Frieston for a rather splendid lunch where we talked of many things and I concluded that he was indeed a suitable suitor for my wonderful niece! On leaving they presented me with a gift from my equally wonderful sister who seems to be under the impression that I am wasting away and need feeding up!

100_1723

Now I am possessed of absolutely no willpower whatsoever and spent the rest of the day munching my way through the entire contents of both boxes being heartily encouraged when @plustenner informed me on twitter that it was actually carbo loading! (You see not only do I have no willpower I am also very gullible!) I went to bed last night feeling totally stuffed and woke up this morning feeling not too dissimilar.

A 70 mile drive and a bus transfer from the car park saw me lining up at 10 o’clock outside Wootton Upper School along with rougly 1500 others persons for the start of the Bedford Harriers half marathon. ‘Twas a bright, sunny morning but a very stiff breeze rather took the edge off the temperature and the wind was most definitely against us for the outward leg of the journey. I have run this race a couple of times before but had conveniently forgotten just how undulating the course is, having said that, I was happy to get round in 2:22:56 especially as I reached halfway in 1:13 and bits and so the wind behind me on the way back saw me run a negative split completing the second half in 1:09ish and 1353rd place. As is always the case with Bedford Harriers races it was excellently organised, copiously and cheerily marshaled and a joy to take part in. A rather snazzy backpack was the reward for finishing and I rewarded myself with a burger for my efforts (see what I mean about the willpower!). Great race, great fun – I will return!

100_1722

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Parkrun, Running/Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hmmm, not sure this is really carbo loading…

  1. I feel your pain! I’m in Bourne – no parkruns anywhere near! I did King’s Lynn the other weekend, good little course!

  2. abradypus says:

    Biscuits are a staple food, surely.

  3. fortnightflo says:

    Fabulous – I had an entry myself but sadly clashed with my work christmas do. Am sort of glad after hearing it was undulating…Lovely rucksack and not a bad time at all!

Leave a Reply

