A run in a park

Another 5 o’clock alarm call and I leapt crawled out of bed, showered, changed and cuppa’d before setting off for Ipswich. Fractionally over 100 miles and 2½ hours later I arrived at Chantry Park, the home of Ipswich parkrun. I appear to have chosen the car park on the opposite side of the park to the start but, not to worry, a warm-up run would be a good idea. On the way, heading in what I hoped was the right direction I stopped to ask a bloke walking an alsatian if he knew where the start of the parkrun was? “Unfortunately I do” was his reply! Ooooerrr, not a happy bunny so I bit back the snappy retort that I couldn’t actually think of, troubled him no further and headed off in the vague direction of the dayglo jackets.

Race director Rory Marriott took in excess of 30 of us 1st timers aside for a run briefing then we joined over 100 others (course record) at the start line and we were off! A steepish downhill of roughly 100 metres was followed by a gentle uphill of similar length which took us round the back of Chantry House and then another nice downhill for a circuit of the pond, the rest of the lap being ever so gently uphill and on muddyish grassland back to the start for the second lap which I completed in 32 mins and bits.

Clapped and cheered home the runners behind me then into the rather splendid cricket pavillion to get my barcode and finishing token scanned and partake of a 50p cup of coffee and free cake! Chatting to the aforementioned Rory Marriott it appears that he is going to be tail runner at the inaugural Chelmsford parkrun in two weeks time so our paths will cross again.

Ipswich parkrun is a very pleasant course which, though quite twisty and turny, seemed to have more more down than up (as it starts and finishes in the same place the physicists among you are going to tell me this is not possible!) and the first half of each lap (2 lap course) just a bit more scenic than the second half. It’s definitely a ‘do-it-again-when-it’s-dry’ course and if you’re a bit of an arboriculturalist you’ll love it for there are some really magnificent and spectacular old trees in the park

A cool down run back to the car park then a drive back home via the massive new Sainsbury’s in King’s Lynn and then the rest of the day spent altering email adresses on the many and various websites I frequent.

And so to sheep! Two or three months ago when I sold my cows I decided to buy six of this years ewe lambs from my neighbour, proper little cuties but as yet, not ever so friendly but it will come. Of course I needed six names – figuring I’ve just about done the Harry Potter thing to death I thought of the Nolan sisters but alas there were only five of them. I asked my facebook friends for suggestions and my favourite was the six wives of Henry VIII until I realized that there were 3 Catherines, 2 Annes and a Jane! So a slight variation on the spice girls theme they will be known as Anise, Cinammon, Ginger, Nutmeg, Tumeric and Saffron or rather they will when I can tell them apart! Two sheepy pictures tonight, one that made me laugh out loud and one that made me go aaargh, poor little waif and stray!

IMAG0016 (2)100_1748

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Janathon, My Animals, Parkrun. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A run in a park

  1. abradypus says:

    Chantry Park sounds lovely… But the sheep in a wheelbarrow wins 🙂

  2. Having seen your daily sheep pictures my other half now wants sheep!

Leave a Reply

