An expensive day off!

Because I work every other Saturday I get every other Monday off and so today I had plans to get a lot done. With this in mind I rose at 5.30 and did my five-and-a-bit mile run before the birds were tweeting and whilst not ever so quick I felt OK after the 16 miles yesterday so that’s week 1 of Janathon done and dusted.

First job of the day was to take the motorbike in for an MOT. I don’t use it much since I stopped commuting to Peterborough on it but wouldn’t want to be without it and thought I ought te be legal especially as the MOT was due last September (don’t worry, it’s not turned a wheel in anger since then!) It failed! Two new tyres later (£93.54 front, £113.94 rear and £54 to fit them) and I have a sparkly new MOT certificate in my possession, the smelling salts did quite a good job of bringing me round!

100_0510

It was then over to Horncastle in the car to fetch six bags of sheep nuts which deprived me of another 42 of my hard earned pounds and then collected 2 bales of straw to bed them up with for the bargain price of £2 per bale. I then sat down with a cuppa and filled in a PPI mis-selling claim form so it may just be that I get some of it back!

For sheep of the day today you’re getting two pictures, the first one is a little tongue-in-cheek and is thanks to Phil Lengthorn (another Janathoner) who put me onto an amusing little app called Halftone, I look forward to playing with it further in the future. The second one is another of the spice girls, still haven’t allocated their names yet but this one is far and away the friendliest and bears the eartag no. S7!

ginnytoon100_1752

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Janathon, My Animals, Running/Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An expensive day off!

  1. abradypus says:

    Which reminds me – my car is due a service soon 😦

  2. I love the app! I think it will feature I ALL my blogs! S7 is my favourite so far! But we do need a better name soon!!!

Leave a Reply

