Oh no, not another maratthon!

Another silly early start for todays Janathon effort saw me pounding the streets of Boston at 5.30 this morning and completing just over 5 miles – and just as a matter of interest, Under my Thumb by the Rolling Stones came up on the shuffle and I simply couldn’t believe the misogynistic lyrics, I’m sure I’ve heard it before but never noticed it, kept waiting for the self-deprecating ending but it never came – how times change!

Back home it was straight onto the computer because last night I was listening to Mike Tomlinson (husband of the late Jane) on radio 5 talking about the Yorkshire Marathon and saying what a beautiful, flat and fast course it was and that places were filling up quickly and so I’ve entered! Thus making it my biggest marathon year ever, only ever done two per year before but this year I’m doing the Virgin London Marathon in April, the Midnight Sun Marathon in June and the Yorkshire Marathon in October. I’m just beginning to wonder if I’d been better of seeking psychiatric help instead!

For sheep of the day today I bring you a couple of pictures of Goyle, son of last nights pin up Sybil. She actually had twin boys who were christened Crabbe & Goyle but unfortunately Crabbe  caught an infection and died, in the morning he was off his food and by the time I got home from work he had passed away leaving Goyle on his own. Goyle thinks he is a proper boy and I haven’t the heart to tell him that the bits that make him a boy were removed shortly after he was born! Like his mother, he is not the friendliest of sheeps (aloof was a great word @knittingpenguin!) but he’s a bit of a cutie and does make me smile and that’s what it’s all about really!

100_1758100_1762

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Janathon, My Animals, Running/Fitness, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oh no, not another maratthon!

  1. Rachel says:

    Very exciting – 3 Marathons! I can only cope with one at a time.
    Goyle is a cutie!

  2. plustenner says:

    wow! good luck 🙂

  3. I’m back on my plan of rustling – I’ll have plenty of time while you’re off marathoning…

  4. abradypus says:

    Watch out, or you’ll start to eye up the 100 marathon club 🙂

Leave a Reply

