Don’t much care for winter!

Sounds like I’m always moaning rather than getting on with it but I really do dislike this cold, snowy weather! I had a bit of a lie-in this morning, not waking until 7.15 and as I was supping my breakfast cup of tea I could hear the wind whistling outside and I was guessing it wasn’t coming from anywhere warm! I then looked at the weather forecast for Boston and saw that snow was forecast for later (they were wrong by the way as it hasn’t snowed….. yet!). Bite the bullet I thought, get it over with and other similar epithets so I donned pretty well all of my running wardrobe and set off.

I was correct, the wind was strong and cold but not too far into the run I came to the same conclusion as @paintedrunner that I was wearing too many clothes but I didn’t have a backpack to undress into so steamed gently as I ran! I stuck to the pavements of Boston some of which were snow free and some of which most definitely weren’t and were quite slippy. Two laps(ish) and 10 miles later I had had more than enough and decided to head for home. It’s very rare that I can’t find something to smile about on a run but not this one, I can honestly say that I hated every second of it and if it hadn’t have been for Janathon I would not have ventured out at all!

I’ve got a load of outside tasks to perform, not least of which is cutting some wood to keep me warm for a bit longer but it is bloody horrible outside so I’ve spent the day tidying up and doing indoor type things though the time will shortly come when I will have to go and minister unto the sheeps, now where did I put that balaclava?

Speaking of sheeps I’ve pinched a couple more snowy sheep pictures from my fellow Ryeland breeder Andy Wilson from Northumberland.

60143_151692188186640_2264282_n314212_10200457340300568_1337339501_n

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t much care for winter!

  1. plustenner says:

    it is indeed horrid out there, I only managed 7 miles and was well ready to come home!

  2. I suspect that balaclavas are the way forward. Balaclavas and gin.

  3. abradypus says:

    10 miles hating every step is seriously hardcore. 10 steps would have ticked the Janathon button.

Leave a Reply

