LRRL Barrow 6

Or in other words the Leicestershire Road Running League Barrow 6 race organized by Barrow Runners being the first race in the five race winter series. My running club, Fleckney & Kibworth Running Club is one of over 20 Leicestershire clubs who take part every year and whilst we got relegated last year we are hoping to make a bit of a comeback this year!

To be honest, I wasn’t particularly looking forward to this race, Janathon having taken it’s toll on my weary body but despite the fact that it was ruddy windy I loved every minute of it! It’s quite an undulating course which is something I’m most definitely not used to but where I once found myself dreading hills, I see so few of them nowadays that I almost enjoy them! Results (including chip timing – woohoo!) have yet to be published but I got round in fractionally over the hour mark which is 4 mins off a pb but which I’m very pleased with as I was expecting something in the 1.05 region. And if there’s anyone really sad out there who wants to see the course, I did a video of the course a few years ago which is in two parts, the first of which can be found here and the second part here!

And so to sheep! Once again these are not my own but I am planning a bit of grand finale where I hope to persuade them to do a group photo – not sure that I’ll manage to get them all lined up properly but I’ll give it a go – watch this space!

ryeland-ewe-lambsryelands4

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Janathon, Running/Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LRRL Barrow 6

  1. Pretty brown sheeps!
    Well done for racing, the bad weather has made it a bad start for this year.

  2. abradypus says:

    I bet Shazruns would be happy to swap some of her hills for a section of your flat. Great time on Janathon weary legs – well done.

Leave a Reply

