Two for the price of one

And I was going to say ‘contains no horse’ but I’m sure that like me, you are sick and tired of hearing about “the horse meat scandal” so I didn’t! Whoops!

I finished Janathon with quite a painful knee, it felt mechanical rather than muscular so I prescribed a lot of rest for myself – trouble is I’ve got the London Marathon looming large on the horizon so I figured it was time to get back on the horse (sorry, couldn’t resist it!)

I thought I’d start gently and so yesterday morning saw me driving up to Sheffield to take part in the 3rd Hillsborough parkrun and I arrived in time to find two gentlemen (I use the term loosely!) with extremely large dogs arguing with the run director (who was the soul of tact and discretion) and telling him how parkrun was ruining their dog walk!

What a lovely 3 lap course! The first half is more or less all downhill with the second half being more or less uphill (you don’t say!) and I’m sure that it has pb potential but on this occasion I was more than happy to wobble round in 30.47 especially as the aforementioned dog walkers seemed to be doing their best to occupy as much of the path as possible! It is surprisingly scenic given that it is bang slap in the middle of Sheffield and in the shadow of Sheffield Wednesdays football ground. Post run coffee was taken in a very pleasant cafe called the Riverside but sadly there were only six of us who took advantage of what it had to offer. This is another of those that I will return to and especially when I’m feeling superfit for I’m convinced that it will reward me with a pb!

And as I went to bed with a pain-free knee I thought that today I ought to do a long run and so set off at the ungodly hour of 6.30 with nothing specific in mind but arrived back a little over 3 hours later having completed 16 miles and whilst my knee still feels reasonably OK my quads are complaining quite a lot! Spent most of the rest of the day doing jobs on the smallholding but kept dashing back inside to check twitter because Norm Driskell was doing progress reports on the London Ultra and reporting how his wife and Louise Ayling were getting on and I’m absolutely made up that Louise did the whole darned 50k and can now call herself an Ultra Runner! What a fantastic achievement!

One thing I did notice today was that Elvis the ram’s toe nails have grown rather long, so much so that he looked like he was sporting a couple of pairs of winklepickers and so I resolved that this evening I would do something about it. To trim the toe nails of a sheep you tip them onto their side and then roll them effortlessly so that they are sitting on their bum, resting against your legs with all four legs pointing out in front of them so that you can then trim their hooves with your clippers – or rather that’s the theory! Not quite so easy when the sheep in question weighs well over 60kg and does most definitely NOT want to sit on his bum to have his hooves trimmed! I did it eventually but it was a battle royal and my back feels like someone’s run over it with a tractor and you know what, he never even said thank you!

Elvis the big ole boy!

Elvis the big ole boy!

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in My Animals, Parkrun, Running/Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two for the price of one

  1. abradypus says:

    Ram wrestling would have made a fine Janathon activity – I do hope you manage to include a little of it in Juneathon 🙂

  2. fortnightflo says:

    Hehe I have a very vivid picture of you battling with a giant sheep in my head!

  3. 7stoneitch says:

    OMG I’m totally in Sheffield!!! You could have brought me a sheep!

Leave a Reply

