Janathon fail!

Alas I have fallen off the Janathon wagon! I set out this morning with the intention of running Aylesbury parkrun which would have been my 97th different event but after driving 107 miles I got there to find the event was understandably called off due to sheet ice on the course. Because I had forgotten my Suunto I decided against doing a freedom run (no way of verifying it) and headed off to checkpoint one of the Country to Capital Ultra to surprise and offer encouragement to abradypus on her 44 mile journey. I then carried on to checkpoint two (which had been my original intention) where she seemed to be remarkably spritely and making good time so I bade her a fond farewell and headed home.

It still being daylight and me still having my running clobber on I headed off down the road but had barely gone 100 yards when I decided that my knee was less than comfortable and that I would give it a miss for today so there you have it, I have failed! Unless I can pull in two runs tomorrow (very doubtful!) I have failed Jantastic too for I had opted to do seven runs a week for January.

Anyway, to cheer myself up a bit, who is this little cutie in her younger days? She has already appeared once in Guess the Sheep.

100_1896

Is it a) Rolanda Hooch or b) Victoire Weasley or c) Ginny Weasley?

And this classy lady who appeared on 10th Janathon with no wool on

100_1584

is a) Minerva McGonagall (born 18th March 2010) and she has had twin boys the first year she was here, Rolanda Hooch and a boy lamb who sadly died last year and this year she had a girl and a boy lamb that I sold to my delightfully dippy friend in Yorkshire and she has named them Double and Trouble! She’s a wonderful mother but she had a bit of trouble with her udder this year, hopefully a year off will have done the trick ’cause you can tell she loves looking after her lambs!

Three of you guessed correctly and they were rundmach, loupie and abradypus – well done!

About JovialGnome

Heavily into running 20 years ago with a PB of 1.42.00 in the Shrewsbury Half Marathon in 1985 and 3.48.49 in the Telford Marathon in 1986 - then for some reason I just stopped and have done little or no physical exercise between then and 2 or 3 years ago! I've now moved to Boston in Lincolnshire where I really enjoy looking after my 13 Ryeland ewes and 1 ram and am rejoicing in the distinct lack of hills! I suspect that sub 4 hour marathons are gone forever but hey, I'm having a great time trying!
This entry was posted in Janathon, My Animals, Parkrun, Running/Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Janathon fail!

  1. plustenner says:

    oh dear, I am not doing too well in this guess the sheep challenge, although Louise seems to really know your sheeps πŸ™‚ And how can it be a fail if you drove 107 miles?!? Hope the knee is better soon! Rachel and I went to surprise Louise at the finish of C2C and even after 44 miles she still looked spritely! perhaps there is a connection between ultra running and guessing the correct sheep??
    My guess for today is Ginny πŸ™‚

  2. madhat2014 says:

    Great effort to go running. Not really a fail at all.

  3. I also think it looks like a Ginny….i am also rubbish at the challenge!

  4. rundmach says:

    Hope your knee feels better tomorrow after some rest!!!

    Could this be Ginny? Whoever she is, she’s a cutie as a young’in!

  5. Such a cute little sheep. Ginny?
    Sorry about missing your parkrun. You can’t have failed Janathon, that’s a bit hard to do. You just took a stategic R&R day from running. Ultra spectating must count as alternative exercise!

  6. Loupie says:

    I think sheet ice is a valid reason for not Janathoning. At least you tried.

    Yay I finally got one right. Going with Victoire for this one.

  7. abradypus says:

    It was lovely to see you, though I’m gutted that you missed parkrun.

    I’m thinking Ginny.

Leave a Reply

